To reserve a table or for further information please contact the Associates office or email

To reserve a table or for further information please contact the Associates office or email

Past IDEA Recipients


Albert D. Cohen, O.C.

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Gendis Inc. Winnipeg, Canada

Paul Desmarais, C.C.

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Power Corporation
Montreal, Canada

Jim Pattison, O.C.

Managing Director and
Chief Executive Officer Pattison Group of Companies
Vancouver, Canada

Akio Morita

Honourary Chairman
and Co-Founder of Sony Corporation
Tokyo, Japan

Ross Perot

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, The Ross Perot Group
Dallas, Texas, U.S.A.

Sir John Egan

Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Jaguar, plc
London, England

Ronald Southern, C.M., M.B.E.

Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of ATCO Ltd., and Chairman of Canadian Utilities Limited
Calgary, Canada

Thomas J. Bata, C.C.

Chairman, Bata Limited
Toronto, Canada

George A. Cohon, O.C.

Former Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer McDonald's Restaurants of Canada Limited
Toronto, Canada

Dwayne O. Andreas

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer Archer Daniels Midland Company
Decatur, Illinois, U.S.A.

Roberto C. Goizueta

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer The Coca-Cola Company
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.

Richard Branson

Founder and Chairman of the Virgin Group of Companies
London, England

W. Galen Weston, O.C.

Chairman and President George Weston Limited
Toronto, Canada

Israel Asper, O.C., Q.C.

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer CanWest Global Communications Corp.
Winnipeg, Canada

Laurent Beaudoin C.C., O.Q.

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Bombardier Inc.
Montreal, Canada

Isadore Sharp, O.C.

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts
Toronto, Canada

Li Ka-shing

Chairman, Cheung Kong (Holdings) Limited, and Hutchison Whampoa Limited
Hong Kong

Edward Rogers, O.C.

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Rogers Communications Inc.
Toronto, Canada

Martha Stewart

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia, Inc.
New York, NY, U.S.A.

Heather Reisman

President & Chief Executive Officer, Indigo Books and Music Inc. and
Gerald W. Schwartz, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Onex Corporation
Toronto, Canada 

Howard Schultz

Chairman and Chief Global Strategist Starbucks Coffee Company
Seattle, Washington, U.S.A

Stephen A. Jarislowsky

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Jarislowsky Fraser & Company Ltd.
Montreal, Canada

Dame Anita Roddick

Founder, The Body Shop
London, England

Dominic D'Alessandro

President and Chief Executive Officer, Manulife Financial
Toronto, Canada

Peter Munk

Founder and Chairman, Barrick Gold Corporation,

Jim Balsillie

Co-CEO Research In Motion,

N. Murray Edwards

Edco Financial Holdings Ltd.,

Jim Sinegal

CEO and Co-Founder, Costco Wholesale Corporation

Stu Clark

Philanthropist and

Chip Wilson

Founder & Chairman, Lululemon Athletica, Inc.

Linda Hasenfratz

Linamar Corporation

David Thomson

The Woodbridge Company

IDEA 2018 Recipient Arianna Huffington Visits the Asper School of Business

To see more photos from IDEA 2018 please click here. For further information regarding IDEA 2018 please refer to the link on your right.

35th Anniversary AGM & Member Recognition Dinner

Working Together

The Associates are a unique group of top business leaders who share the Asper School of Business' commitment to excellence in business education.

An external organization created to advance the School's strategic development beyond what can be accomplished with public funding; the group is comprised of senior-level executives and leaders who understand the importance of having a strong, mutually beneficial relationship between the business community and the world-class business school that serves its higher-order education and research needs.

Membership in the Associates comes with numerous value-added programs and events. We share knowledge, experience and opportunities with each other and with the business leaders of tomorrow through our unique relationship with the School.

Message from the Chair Mr. John Proven

As Chair of the Associates of the Asper School of Business, I am looking forward to facilitating the continued development and growth of an association of successful business leaders dedicated to ensuring that Manitoba has a world-class business school. 

Making the most of any business school's potential requires coordination, commitment and ongoing involvement from the business community. The Associates are the essential connection between the Manitoba business community and the Asper School of Business.

By sharing knowledge, experience, and networks with each other, we create an environment of excellence and relevance which will prepare Manitoba's future business leaders for the opportunities and challenges that await them; and will serve to ensure a prosperous future for the Manitoba economy.

John Proven
Chair, the Associates
COO, Conviron 

Message from Dean Dr. Gady Jacoby

The Associates is the finest program of its type in Canada. The Asper School of Business is indeed fortunate to have the continued strong support of the business community as it pursues its goal of excellence in management education. Over two hundred business men and women in Winnipeg and across Canada have assumed the commitment of the Associates through their annual membership.

Management education is undergoing major changes, and business schools must adapt to these changing conditions. As the Asper School of Business meets the challenges of the future, the Associates will be a vital part of the strategic initiatives undertaken. With the continued support of the business community, the Asper School of Business will maintain its reputation as one of the finest business schools in Canada.

Dr. Gady Jacoby
Dean and CPA Manitoba Chair in Business Leadership